Food • Arts & Culture • Sheffield Life • Branding & Media

Last week, I discovered just how many of us rely on Google Maps when we’re getting ourselves from A to B, when our fifth Network Hub – the relaxed, evening business social events I co-organise with Richard Smith Illustration – rolled around again at a newly-opened coffee bistro-cum-bar, Brezza.

To answer the above question: it’s a lot! The first inkling I got that the good folk of Google had their co-ordinates for Brezza slightly astray was when I got my first phone call from my co-organiser, Richard, who’d never visited the venue before. ‘I followed Google Maps and I’m lost!’ After I directed him to the right spot, the texts & calls then started rolling in thick and fast from more confused and disorientated guests, who’d been relying on their virtual maps to get to the bar [which in case you’re wondering is round the back of Henry’s Bar, on Wellington Street, Sheffield.

After lots of apologies on my part [on behalf of Google!] my slightly panicked state subsided as Brezza started filling up with our guests and the chat started flowing just like on our previous nights…

From my twitter feed, here’s a flavour of some of the feedback I received from our guests about the event:

From @TOSSsheffield: Thanks @stellamedia for a lovely evening at #networkhub

From @moorscreative: Good night tonight network hub 5. I can highly recommend. Thanks @stellamedia. See you at the next one.

From @komoonko: Had the most wonderful time at #networkhub lovely inspiring people @stellamedia @missiecindz Jennifer Booth, Stephen Saville, Richard Smith

From @missiecindz: thanks for a lovely evening – it’s always great seeing you and meeting new people. See u at the next #networkhub gathering

To follow Brezza on Twitter click here

One last word relating to the Google Maps mini saga – well done to Patrick Jackson, who successfully found us thanks to writing down address details on a trusty PostIt note.

Sometimes the old ways are still the best ;-)

Leave a Reply

